top of page

Behind the scenes at the museum by Lennon

Lennon’s blog:

I decided to spend my work experience week at the John Bunyan Museum, where I have enjoyed my time here as I have been helping out in a variety of ways, as well as this I have learnt all about the key aspects of the behind the scenes of how museums operate, and this has allowed me to access some very important life skills that will help me in my future.


Monday:

As I arrived on my first day at the John Bunyan Museum, I was greeted by the friendly workers and then I was given a tour of the building by Nicola, where I learnt about the historical value of John Bunyan and his work. After this I then helped transfer the results of a survey from the previous week in the morning, then later in the afternoon I helped bring over twenty-seven picture frames from the neighbouring museum The Higgins in preparation for the exhibition on the following week.


Tuesday:

For my second day here at the John Bunyan Museum, I firstly wrote up a list of all the pictures that were going to be part of the exhibition on next week, then I got straight to work at sorting out and framing the brilliant pictures into all the picture frames that I had collected yesterday and replacing the pictures with the ones by Bruce Hyatt for the exhibition. After this I began to write up the objects list for the exhibition, then spent the remainder of the day sitting in on a meeting for the John Bunyan Museum web page, which helped me to learn more about the background of museum life and how meetings will work in the future.


Thursday:

I arrived for my fourth day where I started to write up this blog about my wonderful time here. Then after this I sorted out some picture frames that had shifted and recorrected them to a better position. Following this I spent a long time helping at reception where the workers were friendly and helped teach me how to look better at greeting people at the door and informing them where they need to go and helping tell them about the place, supplying me with life lessons that can help me with my future.

 

Friday:

For my final day working at the John Bunyan Museum, I started by writing up more of the blog, then fixing some of the pictures in the frames that had shifted slightly again and stopped this from happening again. After this I headed downstairs and helped sort out some packs for the museum shop and then I spent the last part of my time working in reception and at the museum, where I had an extra-ordinary time, where I was given interesting tasks and was able to help friendly, and welcoming workers here, allowing me to have an excellent time.

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page